top of page

My Thoughts on Creating My First Notan

According to Merriam-Webster, a notan is the combination of lights and darks especially as used in Japanese art : the design or pattern of a work of art as seen in flat areas of dark and light values only.

In class we used scissors, black construction paper, computer paper, a colored pencil, and glue to create our Notan's. I tried to incorporate the use of shapes and lines into my Notan. I believed the shapes would emphasize the white background of the computer paper. The black shapes contrasted exactly how I wanted them to. Overall, I wish I had more time to complete my Notan because I had so many other ideas I would have liked to include into my piece.


  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page